Fresh Toast Waffle

25 Feb

ImageYeah, I went there. I took a lightly toasted frozen waffle, dipped it in french toast egg mixture, then cooked it like I normally do and oh yeah! It was awesome! Here’s the thing, the flavor possibilities are numerous and can get as healthy as you like. These are made with frozen waffles instead of bread slices. So choose any flavor or type of frozen waffle from plain to blueberry to whole wheat to Kashi’s 7-grain waffles packed with whole grains and omega-3s! I can’t wait to try these with the strawberry ones we normally have on hand but oddly are out of right now.

I don’t do measurements when it comes to french toast. The basic recipe is eggs, milk, vanilla, sugar & cinnamon all whisked very well together. My amounts vary but something normally would look like this:

3 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon cinnamon

For this recipe, take the frozen waffles and lightly toast them as you normally would. Then dip them in the egg mixture and lightly cook them in a buttered pan. Viola!

These waffles now taste like french toast but the insides are super light and fluffy like a waffle. It really came out awesome and my kids LOVED this! Enjoy!

One Response to “Fresh Toast Waffle”

  1. Shana February 25, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Love this idea!! Definitely going to try this!!!

Leave a comment

Food Geek Mom

Where my love of food collides with my fandoms and my family

life more beautiful

Sharing laughs, loves, and spectacular fails as we navigate the days of our perfectly imperfect family.

Pastry Chef Online

Where my love of cooking and baking collide with my love of my family.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.